Learning Links

Reddish Hall School have put together a list of links to help support learning outside the classroom. We hope these will help direct you in the right direction. Most of the following links below have been accumulated by the National Autistic Society. The original document can be downloaded here. We have also added a few extra links to help support students and adults at home.


Multi-Purpose Resources

Twinkl Free Resourceshttps://www.twinkl.co.uk/resources/covid19-school-closures

BBC Bitesizehttps://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize

Scouts ‘The Great Indoors’https://www.scouts.org.uk/the-great-indoors/

Education.comhttps://www.education.com/

TED Edhttps://ed.ted.com/

The Kids Should See Thishttps://thekidsshouldseethis.com

Idea UKhttps://idea.org.uk

Pawprint Badgeshttps://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

CBeebies Radiohttps://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Blue Peter Badgeshttps://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges

Toy Theaterhttps://toytheater.com/

Educational Museum Virtual Tourshttps://www.familydaystriedandtested.com/free-virtual-tours-of-world-museums-educational-sites-galleries-for-children/

Communication for Allhttp://www.communication4all.co.uk/

Topmarks Interactive Learninghttps://www.topmarks.co.uk/

Primary Resourceshttp://www.primaryresources.co.uk/

Teaching Ideashttps://www.teachingideas.co.uk/

The Teacher’s Cornerhttps://www.theteacherscorner.net/

KidZonehttps://www.kidzone.ws/

Big Activiteshttps://www.bigactivities.com/

iChild UKhttp://www.ichild.co.uk/

CanTeach (Elementary)http://www.canteach.ca/elementary/

Primary Homework UKhttp://www.primaryhomeworkhelp.co.uk/

Emile (Game-based learning) – https://www.emile-education.com/schools-corona-virus/


KEY STAGE 3 RESOURCES

Here are a few links to resources that do not necessarily need a printer.

Word search maker

This link will take you to the Discovery Education website where you or your child can create your own word searches, by yourself or together. You can chose to make these as easy or as difficult as you like! If you do have access to a printer you can save your word search and print it out for other people to complete:

Puzzle Maker

English resources

The British Council has a range of literacy based activities for younger students, including a simplified version of the game Boggle (called Word Scramble), as well as quizzes and story makers:

English Activities

Audible

Audible is offering all its stories for younger listeners for free whilst schools up and down the UK are closed. Follow the link and your child can start listening for free:

Audible

BBC Resources – including Maths and English!

BBC Bitesize if offering KS3 Maths resources, as well as languages, History, Geography and PSHE. Maybe you can learn to solve math problems in French.. oui?

BBC Bitesize


KEY STAGE 4 RESOURCES

Here are a few links to resources that do not necessarily need a printer.

FutureLearn Schools – Free courses online

Gain access to over 120 online courses. Most of the courses on offer are free! Explore courses to support learning from home. Students get the opportunity to learn from expert educators and with other students. Age 13+

FutureLearn Schools website

BBC Resources – including Maths and English!

BBC Bitesize GCSE if offering KS4 Maths resources, as well as languages, History, Geography and PSHE. In fact, there are 36 topics to choose from!

BBC Bitesize

Word search

Emotions vocabulary wordsearch – ask your child to have a go and finding these words. They can also look up any words that they’re unsure about by going to a good online dictionary  which will give definitions and example sentences as well as read aloud the words for students.

Dictionary

English spelling games

Spellzone features games based around pattern recognition, problem solving and voice and vocabulary games aimed at KS4 learners. Have a look at the spelling game called ‘Egg Hunt’ where students have to click the lettered eggs in the right order to spell one of the words from the list

Spelling Games

Boggle

Here’s another word game which is fun for students and also easy to use. Just drag your arrow/mouse across the letters in a horizontal, vertical or diagonal line at recognisable words to score points that are recorded in the word panel. Have a go and see if you can beat each other!

Educational puzzles

Science resources

We’ve found some interesting Science-themed word searches for you to have a go at:

General Science-related word searches

Chemistry-specific word searches

Circulatory system word search

Properties of matter word search

Microbiology word search

Muscular system word search


LEARNING LINKS BY SUBJECT

Below are more links to learning by subject. These offer more activities and learning opportunities.

Literacy

Phonics Play – https://new.phonicsplay.co.uk/

Letters and Sounds (phonics) – http://www.letters-and-sounds.com/

British Council classroom resources – https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

Pobble 365 (Story writing) – http://www.pobble365.com/

Vooks (Storybooks brought to life) – https://www.vooks.com/

Free Children’s Classics – https://www.researchify.co.uk/audiobooks.html

Oxford Owl for Home – https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/

The Magic Key (BBC) – https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=The+magic+key

Reading Eggs – https://readingeggs.co.uk/articles/2019/09/16/literacy-games-for-kids/

Teach Your Monster to Read – https://www.teachyourmonstertoread.com/

Starfall Learning to Read – https://www.starfall.com/h/ltr-classic/

Epic Digital Library (and audio books) – https://www.getepic.com/

BBC Alphablocks – https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/shows/alphablocks

2Simple Purple Mash – https://2simple.com/blog/using-purple-mash-when-school-closed/

Mr T’s Phonicshttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7sW4j8p7k9D_qRRMUsGqyw

Reading Rockets Literacy Apps   https://www.readingrockets.org/literacyapps

Fun English Games – http://www.funenglishgames.com/writinggames.html

Amazon Audible – https://www.audible.co.uk/

 

Numeracy

Mathsphere – http://www.mathsphere.co.uk/resources/

Prodigy Games – https://www.prodigygame.com

Nrich Maths – https://nrich.maths.org/

Snappy Maths – http://www.snappymaths.com/

Maths Is Fun (worksheets) – https://www.mathsisfun.com/worksheets/

TES (Free resources) – https://www.tes.com/teaching-resource/maths-free-resource-library-6439409

Topmarks – www.topmarks.co.uk

CBeebies Numeracy – https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/topics/numeracy

Parent Club – https://www.parentclub.scot/topics/play-learn

National Numeracy – https://www.nationalnumeracy.org.uk/

Help My Kid Learn – http://www.helpmykidlearn.ie/

Boddle Learning – https://boddlelearning.com/

Dragonbox (Kahoot) – https://dragonbox.com/

Coolmath Games – https://www.coolmathgames.com/

 

Science

https://mysteryscience.com

https://www.crestawards.org

https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/

http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/

https://sciencebob.com/

https://www.stem.org.uk/

www.Wowscience.co.uk

https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/curations/science-activities

https://theimaginationtree.com/

www.jamesdysonfoundation.co.uk

www.britishscienceweek.org

 

History and Geography

BBC Horrible Histories – http://horrible-histories.co.uk/

National Geographic Kids – https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

World Geography Games – https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

ICT History (101 teaching ideas) – https://www.ichistory.com/uploads/1/0/2/9/10290322/101_history_teaching_ideas_part_1.pdf

 

Computing

Barefoot Computing – https://www.barefootcomputing.org/

Blocky Games – https://blockly.games/

Interact through Minecraft – https://www.interactionthroughminecraft.com/

Scratch Games – https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games

ICT Games – http://ictgames.com/

Vivify STEM Resources – https://www.vivifystem.com/blog/2020/3/12/top-stem-resources-for-school-closings

 

Art, Design and Craft

TinkerCAD – https://www.tinkercad.com

The Artful Parent (Facebook) – https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

Red Ted Art – https://www.redtedart.com

The Imagination Tree – https://theimaginationtree.com

Art Arena (Oil pastels) – www.youtube.com/watch?v=ueyf2yrk364

LEGO 30 Day challenge – https://mk0freehomescho2g81n.kinstacdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Lego30daychallenge.pdf

Yodomo (Making at home) – https://yodomo.co/

 

Health, Well-Being and Cooking

Young Minds (Coronavirus) – https://youngminds.org.uk/blog/what-to-do-if-you-re-anxious-about-coronavirus/

Think U Know (eSafety) – https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk 

BBC Goodfood – https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/

Sitters (Cooking activities) – https://www.sitters.co.uk/blog/15-fun-cooking-activities-for-kids.aspx

FOOD (a fact of life) – https://www.foodafactoflife.org.uk/news/supporting-primary-and-secondary-pupils-studying-at-home/

Food Standards (Healthy Eating) – https://www.foodstandards.gov.scot/consumers/healthy-eating/nutrition/healthy-eating-tutorial

Food Standards Eat Well – https://www.foodstandards.gov.scot/consumers/healthy-eating/eatwell

Action for Children – https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/support-for-parents/things-to-do-with-your-child/

Comic Kids Yoga – https://www.youtube.com/user/CosmicKidsYoga

Change4Life – https://www.nhs.uk/change4life/about-change4life

Tinkergarten (Outdoor activities) – https://tinkergarten.com/activities